Lifetime Achievement Awards

Past Recipients (1995-2014)

The Elaine Weissman Lifetime Achievement Awards are presented each year during the annual International Folk Alliance Conference.

Awards are presented to a living recipient, a memorial recipient, and an active organization.


2014: Buddy MacMaster, Dock Boggs, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

2013: The Weavers, Mike Seeger, Augusta Heritage Center

2012: Robert Johnson, Harry Belafonte, The Highlander Center

2011: Jimmie Rodgers, Joan Baez, Les Blank

2010: Elizabeth Cotten, Bob Dylan, National Council for Traditional Arts

2009: Phil Ochs, Guy & Candie Carawan, Old Town School of Folk Music           

2008: Mavis Staples, Tommy Jarrell, Rounder Records

2007: Earl Scruggs, Dave Van Ronk, Manny Greenhill

2006: Tom Paxton, Clifton Chenier, Kenneth Goldstein

2005: Odetta, Stan Rogers, The Newport Folk Festival

2004: New Lost City Ramblers, Mississippi John Hurt, Bess Lomax Hawes

2003: Ralph Stanley, Reverend Gary Davis, SingOut!

2002: Hazel Dickens, Bill Monroe, Harold Leventhal

2001: Lydia Mendoza, Paul Robeson, Ralph Rinzler, Smithsonian Folklife Festival

2000: Doc Watson, Dewey Balfa, Edith Fowke

1999: Dr. Bernice Johnson Reagon, The Carter Family, Anne and Frank Warner

1998: Jean Ritchie, Huddie “Lead Belly” Ledbetter, American Folklife

1997: Bruce “Utah” Phillips, Chris Strachwitz, Arhoolie Records

1996: Woody Guthrie, Moe Asch/Folkways Records

1995: Pete Seeger, Alan Lomax

509 Delaware St. #101
Kansas City, MO 64105
TEL: 816-221-FOLK (3655)
FAX: 816-221-3658

Upcoming Events
The Beautiful Music All Around Us
01/16/2015 – 03/15/2015
Depends on Day
Stackner Cabaret, Milwaukee, WI

read more »

First Tuesday Tunes with Betse
6:30 p.m.
Olathe Public Library, 201 E. Park St., , Olathe, KS

read more »

Sign Up For Emails